Review: Dallas Buyers Club

FJ Rating: Renter

Cast: Matthew McConaughey, Jared Leto, Jennifer Garner, Steve Zahn

Director: Jean-Marc Vallée

R, 1 hr 57 min

It’s 1985 in Dallas, Texas, and Ron Woodroof (Matthew McConaughey) has just been told he’s HIV+.  Homophobic and uneducated about the disease, Ron’s initial reaction is denial.  Given 30 days to live, he eventually comes to the realization that his diagnosis is probably true and he begins doing research of his own.  After quite a few unsuccessful attempts at smuggling non-FDA approved drugs from Mexico into Texas, Ron starts up a Buyers Club with Rayon (Jared Leto), an HIV+ transvestite he meets while in the hospital.

I’ll start off by admitting I thought Jared Leto made this film.  Jared Leto played the frail HIV+ transvestite, Rayon, who meets Matthew McConaughey’s character in the hospital.  Rayon is free-spirited, flirtatious, sometimes coy, and the drug addict/business partner of Ron Woodroof. Jared Leto did an excellent job at his portrayal of Rayon.  I think it’s safe to say he will definitely be on the nominee list for Actor in a Supporting Role for the 86th Academy Awards (which will air March 2, 2014, so mark your calendars!).  I’m sure Matthew McConaughey will also be nominated for an Oscar – for Actor in a Leading Role – I just wasn’t as impressed with his portrayal of Ron Woodroof as I was Jared Leto’s character.  If I’m being brutally honest, I think the physical transformation was really the only thing that blew me away in regards to Matthew McConaughey’s role in the film.  Certain parts of the film seemed to drag on and lacked to keep my interest, so I’d save your money and wait until “Dallas Buyers Club” is available to rent.

Check Fandango to see when “Dallas Buyers Club” is playing in your area.

-FJ

Leave a comment